Crossbones

PILOT

Image


 

BY CORINNE

Well it’s John Malkovich, I mean, the man plays a perfect weirdo, and I’m excited about this new venture.

NBC have really been hitting it out of the park lately with some killer shows! This one looks really good too!

The show is set around the infamous cut throat pirate, Blackbeard, who had been rumoured to be dead until the English Army believed he hadn’t died and is set himself up on a secret island… The pilot revolves around this contraption that was one of the first navigation systems, where it tracked Latitude while at sea, which would mean that the English would revolutionise sea travel and render pirates extinct.Image So basically the English Government commission an English Secret agent, Tom Lowe, to pose as a physician on the ship the navigation system is on. He then gets taken to the secret island Blackbeard lives on, and his double mission is to destroy the system if Blackbeard had it and to kill him.

Now I know how much of a wonderful actor John is, but he is always hilarious to me, because he is so quirky! This role is no exception, he is meant to be serious, and he is definitely cut throat, but I found myself laughing a few times…

Image

 

Aside from John being kind of John, it is a wonderful concept, and it can go a long way if they don’t go overboard on the complicated storyline and twists and turns, they can be great, but when they overcomplicate things like this, it can become too much work to watch, and that’s not what I want.

So I believe this series could really have something about it, and I hope they continue to bring to life, Blackbeard and his escapades on the Sea!

This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment